The Art of Unplugging

So, over the weekend I dropped my phone down a storm drain. Totally normal, right? For those of you who want to know how it happened, I was with my boss at a swim meet in Omaha and I reached down to grab my beautiful almost-new iPhone 6 off the ground of the van, where I had dropped it twenty minutes earlier. I picked it up and was telling my boss how relieved I was that it didn’t fall out of the van when my phone flew out of my hands (due to my expressive hand gestures, of course) and flew right into the storm drain.

I went to the Verizon store several days later and, to my horror, my phone was still on and still in the drain – I could have gotten my iPhone back. I had just assumed that it was destroyed and was now a chew toy for sewer rats. With a laugh, the Verizon guy played the obnoxious Find my iPhone beeping noise and joked, “people will freak out when they hear this coming from the sewer HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.” Obviously, I was very amused. Anyways, I have not had a cellphone for a week now and I have learned some valuable things.

  1. Unplugging is important. We rarely take time to disconnect from our cellphones. We worry so much about missing out that we never unplug and unwind.
  2. Our phones act as a barrier. We use them when we’re uncomfortable. We use them when we want to be disconnected. We use them to distract. Because we are so connected to our phones, we don’t take the time to connect to others when we are actually around them.
  3. We rely on technology to bridge the gap. Because we are always on our phones, we rely on them to communicate our thoughts and feelings. Rarely to we start conversations face to face.

Most importantly, I’ve learned that being disconnected is a great way to reconnect and live in the moment. When you aren’t constantly staring at a screen, you start to realize just how interesting and beautiful the world is.

xoxo,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

